top of page
  • Writer's pictureJocelyne Fowler

Ana Maria and the Fox by Liana De la Rosa

Ana Maria and the Fox is Liana De la Rosa's first book in her new series that centers around a trio of Sisters who are heiresses from Mexico. Liana De la Rosa beautifully illustrates this forbidden romance between Ana Maria and Gideon, a shrewd British Politician. De la Rosa uses care and interest to weave together the romance of the British Victorian Era while the history of the French occupation of Mexico. De la Rosa's writing is accessible and gently weaves in Mexican history during this time, giving the reader an interesting and unique look into this period of history that romances tend to focus more on the British side of things. I found this novel to be well paced, I found the writing to be lovingly plotted, and I found the characters to be understandable, sympathetic and well rounded. I have really enjoyed Liana De la Rosa in the past and I found this novel to be a wonderful addition to her works, I can see some beautiful growth in her writing and I am left so excited for what will be coming next in this series!


I absolutely adore a self made man on a mission, and Gideon is exactly that. He has a purpose and a cause that he must stay focused on, but Ana Maria will prove to be a distraction he is not sure he should pursue. I love that both Gideon and Ana Maria are at turning points in their lives when they meet each other. Gideon is on the cusp of success for his case and Ana Maria is getting her first taste of freedom away from her father's domineering ways. I love that they each become a foil for the other, they both believe they must ignore the distraction the other person is causing but in the long run that will actually find more success together. Liana does a really lovely job building up the tension and chemistry between these two, we know they are attracted to the other, but we also get this delicious moments of stolen kisses and touches as they circle around each other. Their attraction builds slowly into trust and respect, and this is show through the gentle way they learn to understand each other and provide each other with help and guidance. Liana really highlights their romance through kisses and soft moments, this novel is not closed door, but it is definitely more on the lighter side of sensuality. Their physical romance is still lovingly built in the soft moments so I felt like Liana handled the sensuality and chemistry beautifully and I could fully understand and see the romance and love between these two.


I would highly recommend this novel by Liana Del la Ray, especially if you are looking for a wonderfully diverse historical romance that has the care and rooting in history that is not always explored in the historical romance genre. I am so excited to continue to watch this series grow, Liana has created a group of sisters who I can't wait to get their happily ever afters!


Thank you to Berkley Publishing and NetGalley for an eARC, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page