top of page
  • Writer's pictureJocelyne Fowler

Tempting the Vicar by Liana LeFey

Twin Swapping, protection of reputation, mistaken identity and temptation all work hand in hand to craft this novel. This is the first book I have read by Liana LeFey and it is the second book in the Wicked Waywards series. I have not read the first book in this series but it is my understanding that the novel is a companion piece that will fill in the gaps of the other side of the story. dealing with the other swapped twin, so I am definitely interested in reading that novel to fill in other pieces of this story. I am not sure if it is more beneficial to read book one first or if it is interchangeable, but I found the synopsis of this novel to be intriguing that I definitely wanted to pick it up and give it a chance. I found Liana LeFey's writing to be engaging and well paced, her story is interesting and I was definitely invested in finding out how this twin swap would play out.


Daniel has spent most of his life pious and in service of his parish and his family while maintaining an upstanding reputation. So when his twin pulls a foolish prank, Daniel swaps places with him to help reinstate his brother's standing as well as his families reputation. Little does Daniel know that he will find himself tempted by an enticing beauty-Olivia. Olivia is determined to win over Daniel no matter the warnings of society or the wishes of her father. So using her clever mind, Olivia works on ways to make his jealous (believing him to be his twin brother) and falling more and more in love with who Daniel truly is.


The inner workings of this novel clip along as Daniel unravels information to help his brother, finds himself in the beguiling company of Olivia and tries to maintain his reputation with his religious views and the temptations of London. LeFey definitely creates an interesting story that easily keeps the reader engaged to the end, I feel like there are also moments in the novel that will be filled in with more information from the first in this series. I really enjoy that aspect that it feels like a novel that has a companion novel that will be perfect in helping to tell this full overall story of two brothers. It is very reminiscent of Julia Quinn's duology- The Lost Duke of Wyndham. I felt the overall plotting of the novel was very story but I was missing something in the romance. There was a lack of chemistry between Daniel and Olivia which ultimately left be wanting for more in the development of their relationship.


Overall, I am very interested in exploring LeFey's backlist. And If you are looking a companion series about twin brothers and swapping places than this is definitely a wonderful choice to pick up. 3.5 Stars rounded up to 4 Stars.


Thank you to Entangled: Amara and NetGalley for an eARC, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page