top of page
  • Writer's pictureJocelyne Fowler

A Duke at the Door by Susanna Allen


This series is definitely and intriguing one for me. I love the intermixing of paranormal and historical and I think Susanna Allen does a lovely job in crafting her historical world full of paranormal mystery. This is the third installment in the Shapeshifters of the Beau Monde series. I found the first installment to be truly delightful with a light hearted touch and feel to it. I have yet to pick up the second novel in the series, but the tone of this third novel definitely has a slightly less comedic feel and feels like it has a level of gravity and angst that the first novel steered away from. While I did enjoy this novel and the exploration of Allen's world, I did miss the light hearted ness of the first which has a really lovely comedic levity that gave the overall tone a really lovely feel.

This novel explores the romance between Alwyn, a lion shifter duke, was held captive in a traveling menagerie for years and refuses to shift into his lion form, which is causing him to get sicker and sicker. So Tabitha, an apothecary, is brought in to help him shift again. Through their interactions, Alwyn learns that he might have something to live for again.

The plotting and concept for this novel was very interesting to me. I enjoyed Tabitha as a heroine, she is intelligent and hard working and she determined to help Alwyn. Alwyn is stoic and guarded because of the torment he faced, and watching him learn to trust someone again is really delightful and heartening. Tabitha and Alwyn because the perfect balance for each other and their trust of each other is beautiful to watch grow. Overall this is a very plot driven novel, the plot and the romance almost become parallel in their importance to the story. I think this was an interesting tactic but it does draw away from the central romance which makes me a little sad to miss out on the opportunity to see Alwyn and Tabitha grow in their feelings.

Ultimately, this is a unique story, a unique series that is well written and definitely worth exploring. I love the intermixing of paranormal and historical. I think Susanna Allen's writing is interesting, well paced and definitely something I will be continuing to explore!

3.5 stars rounded up to 4.

Thank you so much to Sourcebooks, Casablanca and NetGalley for an eARC, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page