top of page
  • Writer's pictureJocelyne Fowler

Fake by Kylie Scott

Updated: Jun 28, 2021


I really enjoyed this book, it was such a charming and delightful story told in first person point of view from the Heroine. Kylie Scott has an accessible and engaging tone that drew me immediately into the Heroine's experience and life. This is a fake dating relationship between Norah and Patrick (an actor). This relationship starts off with the hero employing the heroine as a fake girlfriend in order to help to restore his reputation after having an affair with a married woman.


This is a very slice of life story. I don't typically read lots of romance novels from the point of view of only one of the characters, especially in first person, but I really think that this style worked well for this story. It helps the reader to be fully in Norah's head and experience what she is going through because she is a fish out of water in this situation of fame and paparazzi. I also like that as the reader I was understanding Patrick's feelings and intentions through Norah's understanding and reading of them.


I really liked watching their relationship grow from friendship, to lovers. I loved slowly getting hints of how Patrick truly felt about Norah. I love that Patrick is so ready to make a relationship work with Norah and give her what she wants and needs and support her as she deserves.


I would highly recommend this if you love a contemporary romance, that is fairly low angst and is really focused on the relationship building between the hero and heroine. 4.5 Stars

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page