top of page
  • Writer's pictureJocelyne Fowler

Midsummer Madness by Nadine Millard

This second installment of the Lord of All Seasons series by Nadine Millard is a quick paced delightful romp for the summer season. I was quickly swept up into this low angst, insta love romance and left with a smile on my face. Millard's writing is well paced, charming and the perfect escape for an afternoon. I loved the first book in this series and this is a great follow up as we watch the Templeworth sister's find their perfect romances.


Hope has established herself as a flirt because she has constantly been told that beauty is her best asset. But Hope wants adventure and an epic romance so she will not settle for anything less. Gideon, an Earl, is looking for a distraction from past mistakes, and when he comes across a bathing beauty he is cautious believe a beautiful woman will only cause you trouble. But of course these two find themselves constantly clashing together surrounded my mishaps, mistaken identities and misunderstanding before they finally decide to embrace their attraction.


Hope is such a fun and bold character, I love that she stands up for herself, I love that she knows she is beautiful but also does not rely on that beauty to make her life easier, and I love that she will fight for what she wants. I love that Gideon is so quickly entranced by Hope and that he must learn to move past preconceived ideas of beautiful women and see Hope for the gem that she is. Gideon and Hope both easily fall into a rapport with each other that has a nice sizzle of chemistry. Millard does a lovely job of building the tension between these two as they get to know each other and develop feelings for the other. I love that the conflict in their relationship is from the outside and I love that this conflict does not destroy any trust that these two of begun to build with the other. This is a sweet and lovely romance between two people who are able to see the value in the other. I love that these two both feel like they are on the same ground and footing with the other which leads to the development of a strong foundation for their relationship.


If a fast paced, sweetly romantic historical romance is what you crave this is a charming and fun countryside romance perfect for a summer afternoon! I am looking forward to the continuation in this series as well as continuing to explore Millard's backlist.


Thank you to Dragonblade Publishing and NetGalley for an eARC, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page