top of page
  • Writer's pictureJocelyne Fowler

The Vinyl Frontier by Lola West


The Vinyl Frontier by Lola West is a lovely new adult romance that softly and subtly brings to life a romance between the hearing and deaf world. While this is not my reality and I can not fully attest to the deaf representation, this novel did give me the impression that West took great time and care in bringing this story to light. I felt like many wonderful accessibility issues around deaf people in a primarily hearing environment were handled with understanding and enlightenment. I found Lola West’s writing to be accessible and easily conveyed her thoughts and ideas.


This novel was very well paced and had delicious moments of sweetness and grace, as well as did not shy away from hard topics or feelings. West brings to life two people in the process of becoming adults and learning to stand on their own two feet. This novel also does a wonderful job of showing processes of learning and growth, as well as the strength it takes to forgive. Lola West perfectly brings to life two people who learn and grow from each other and become equal partners. I loved the the heroine has a strong grounding in who she is and what she wants and she will not let anything or anyone tell her otherwise. I love that the hero is able to learn from the heroine to be bold and stand tall and advocate for himself and others.


This is my first novel from Lola West and I was definitely impressed and found this story to be absolutely beautiful and worth reading! I am excited to explore other works by West and hope you find this story as lovely as I did!

Thank you so much to Smartypants Romances for an eARC, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page