top of page
  • Writer's pictureJocelyne Fowler

To Teach a Rogue New Tricks by Charlie Lane

If you are looking for a delightful and charming read that is low on angst this is a lovely option for you. This fast paced, rake in search of reformation and heroine in search of adventure story is full of fun, heart and a wonderful cast of characters. Charlie Lane's writing is accessible, lively and amusing. This is my first novel by Charlie Lane and it will definitely not be my last, I am so glad I finally had the opportunity to pick up her work and I am so looking forward to continuing to explore her backlist.


Cassius is a villainous rogue, whose past mistakes still haunt him. After an attempted abduction of his sister-in-law, Cass was exiled to France and now he is back ready to make amends and stitch back together his relationship with his family. When he meets Ada, a bluestocking in search of adventure, they both find the perfect person to help them each in their desires.


I absolutely love that Cass and Ada enter into a relationship that can be mutually beneficial to them both. I also was tickled pink with their first meeting, Ada sees him from afar and is so intrigued by him that she kinda seeks him out. I love that Ada is bold and smart and that she has some experience when it comes to the relations between men and women. I love that Cass pushes her to open up to him and they both delight in correspondence with each other as they being to map out their relationship. I think that Charlie Lane does a really lovely job of showing how these to learn for the other and understand each other. I love that Cass sees Ada for who she is deep down and he does not want to change her or alter her dreams, he wants to support her and be there with her every step of the way. This novel also has great support from the secondary characters and Ada's father is also always on her side, and that is really refreshing to see. This novel is sweetly sensual and the chemistry between Ada and Cass is dreamy.


This was just an absolute delight, I love the Cavendish Family and I can not wait to get more of their stories. I very much recommend this novel and now I am beyond thrilled to continue exploring Charlie Lane's backlist.


Thank you so much to Charlie Lane for an eARC, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page