top of page
  • Writer's pictureJocelyne Fowler

What's an Earl Gotta Do? by Courtney McCaskill

I absolutely adored this novel! It has definitely become a favorite of the year for me. Courtney McCaskill crafts a friends-to-lovers romance, with the perfect amount of pining, a hero who falls first, a delightful amount of steam and a beautiful balance of consent, conversation and understanding. McCaskill's writing is well paced and extremely engaging, I was swiftly drawn into the story and along for the ride every step of the way. I fell head over heels for the hero and wanted the best for him and his heroine. I loved McCaskill's first novel and I am blown away with her second! I can really see her craft growing in such a wonderful way and I am looking forward to the continuation on in this series and watching her writing to continue to grow and evolve!


This romance is about Michael and Anne, they have been childhood friends forever, but after a failed proposal in their youth, Michael has spent the last four years in Canada and Anne has been married and widowed. It has been a year since Anne's husband has passed and Michael is back and ready to claim the woman he has always loved.


This is a beautiful romance and watching the mutual pining from both Michael and Anne is so much fun while watching Michael grapple with how to broach Anne with his true feeling and the marriage proposal he has been dreaming of. McCaskill does a lovely job of embracing and showing the closeness of their friendship while keeping a delightful attraction and sensual chemistry percolating under the surface of their encounters. I was charmed by Michael and his feeling towards Anne, I loved watching him make quiet remarks under his breath while trying to slowly steer Anne's mind to understanding his feeling toward her. I love that Michael see's Anne for the strong and independent woman that she is, I also love that he knows that he will do absolutely anything to make her happy. Anne is also a delightful character, she is smart and has a heart of gold. Anne has learned to protect her heart by denying her true feelings towards Michael and watching her come to understand Michael's intentions and feeling is an absolute delight. McCaskill's exploration of their physical relationship is sensual and sexy, and it feels like a wonderful balance to the romance. She also creates safe and consensual communication between Michael and Anne as their physical relationship grows. There is a light mystery that runs throughout the novel that gives Michael and Anne the opportunity to work together and learn not to take each other for granted. I enjoyed this as a plot point to drive a better understanding of Anne's social work and the importance that she holds in the community and the importance of this charity that she has started and worked hard for.


This is a fantastic historical romance that I can not recommend highly enough! This romance is full of charming moments and scenes with a romance that is swoon-worthy and characters who are a beautiful balance and compliment to the other. I can not wait to be able to get a physical copy to add to my collection and I am yearning for the continuation in this series!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page