top of page
  • Writer's pictureJocelyne Fowler

Only the Valet will Do by Sophie Barnes

Sophie Barnes is a must read historical romance author for me. I know when I pick up one of her novels I will find myself swept up into the story that will leave me with cozy feelings, a smile on my face and warmth in my heart. Only the Valet Will Do, is such a charming and delightful addition to the Sophie Barnes catalog of works. This story is a sweet, insta love story that has the mystic charm of true love. I adore that this novel deals with a class difference between the hero and the heroine, and I love that this class difference although acknowledged by them both is something that they both refuse to see as an obstacle that they are not unwilling to overcome.


This story will entertain you from the beginning, a charming meet/cute between the hero and heroine instantly sparks into an understanding and attraction between the two. Barnes is able to take the insta love of their fated relationship and imbue it with a depth of curiosity and understanding that these two gain as they gather moments of knowledge about the other. I love that Barnes know that just telling the reader they are in love is not enough and she is able to craft the small moments they have together to show the reader that these two are equals in their minds and that they would make the perfect partner to the other. Barnes masterfully weaves together this story by putting the heroine and hero at the center of the story. These two are able to have stolen moments that give them deeper insight into the other. These two, although they both feel the instant draw to the other, also reflect and take the time to make sure that the others wants and needs are in the forefront of their minds. I love that these two never underestimate the other, that they both stand up for themselves and the other, and that the trust whole heartedly in their feelings.


This novel while low on the steam, only some passionate kisses, is full of heart! I was swept into this story, I was invested in their relationship and I trusted that love would ultimately win. This is a wonderful Sophie Barnes novella, I would highly recommend her, this novella and her extensive backlist!


Thank you to Sophie Barnes and NetGalley for an eARC, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page