top of page
  • Writer's pictureJocelyne Fowler

Pure Love by Emily Bow

I am always drawn to a sports/hockey romance, so when I read the synopsis for this novel by Emily Bow, I was very interested in discovering a new sports series to enjoy. This is the first novel I have read from Emily Bow and it is the first novel in her Snower's Hockey Romance series. I found Emily Bow's writing to be easily accessible and the pacing was decent through out. I am definitely not apposed to reading more of Bow's work, but ultimately this story did not resonate strongly with me.


The romance is between Mikah, a star player with a player's reputation, and Piper, the team's new purity minder. And while these two have a really fun and promising meet cute, I ultimately felt like too much of the story revolved around secondary characters and I never truly felt or believed in the connection between Mikah and Piper.


This novel mainly read to me more like a new adult novel, with I am not against, but I did not go into this novel expecting. Because of this I don't think I every truly connect to our hero or heroine. We also spent a lot of time with the hero and heroine in the company of secondary characters, and in my opinion it felt like there was just too much time spent with them apart for me to see their relationship grow from anything that was surface level. None of this is to say that this novel is not well written or worth reading, I just think going into it with the proper expectations will help with your enjoyability.


If you like a more coming of age story in which our characters feel like they are still growing into their adulthood than this is definitely a book for you. This sports romance has very much a happy for now and more open ended conclusion to its story.


Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for an eARC, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page